Challenge Weeks Four and Five: Media and a Memory

April7

“Dora, Dora , Dora the explorer!” You might find that tune very annoying at this point in your life, but when I was five it was the highlight of my day. I just couldn’t live without it. It was a major life necessity next to oxygen.

Every morning I would get up and head straight to the T.V. “Don’t you want to eat some breakfast?” My mom wold ask. “I can’t, I have to watch Dora.” I would whine. It would be the same question and the same answer every morning. The show had so much more to offer than a “healthy breakfast”.

While I watched, I would fall into the trance. What trance? You might ask yourself. It’s the trance where everything around you is blocked out and you escape reality. All that you’re focused on is the show–nothing else. You have to be fully engaged, so you can answer Dora’s questions. “Can you help me stop Swiper?” She would ask. Of course I got totally excited and screamed “Yeah!” To the T.V. Screen. Then I would recite the same words I say almost every morning, “Swiper no swiping, Swiper no swiping, Swiper no swiping!” Swiper will back down and I would think I am the amazing hero that saved Dora’s life. Back then I didn’t know that the show was the one who actually stopped Swiper.

I hold the show in a very important place in my heart. Sure, now I’m 7 years older, but that doesn’t mean I’ve forgotten it. Dora is wonderful! Though most of the time I didn’t know its purpose was to teach Spanish, I still enjoyed it! The entertaining characters combined with the creative plot twists puts a big smile on any 5 year olds face. I can look back and remember that nothing has ever beat Dora in the aspect of making any bad day a great one at the end.

20140410-214111.jpg

by posted under Uncategorized | 1 Comment »    
One Comment to

“Challenge Weeks Four and Five: Media and a Memory”

  1. April 23rd, 2014 at 8:41 pm      Reply Mrs. Kriese Says:

    “While I watched, I would fall into the trance. What trance? You might ask yourself. It’s the trance where everything around you is blocked out and you escape reality. All that you’re focused on is the show–nothing else.”

    I enjoyed reading this post very much, and I think this bit about falling into a trance-like state is my favorite. I know exactly what you are talking about! I had my favorite shows as a kid, too, and when they were on, no one had better bother me. I was lost in time and space with the crew of the Enterprise or the Ingalls family in Little House on the Prairie.


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Recent Comments

Class Blogs


Recent Comments



Skip to toolbar